May 20-21, 2020

Keynotes

Silken Laumann
Olympic Hero

Silken LaumannFour-time Olympian Silken Laumann is one of Canada’s most inspirational leaders, a bestselling author, and a highly recognizable and beloved athlete. As an elite athlete, writer, and life coach, Silken has made her work reaching her own potential and helping others reach theirs. Inspiring, funny, thought-provoking and always down to earth, Silken opens her heart and leaves her audience ready to unlock their own potential and aspire to their own greatness. What prevails in Silken is the human spirit, the humor to keep learning through the failures, the courage to see opportunities within obstacles, and the tenacity to never stop trying to be better.

Silken’s Olympic story is legendary and inspirational. As reigning world champion, Silken fought back from a devastating rowing accident to win a bronze medal in the 1992 Summer Olympics in Barcelona. Her stunning 10-week recovery and her courage in the face of almost insurmountable obstacles endeared her in the hearts of Canadians. Silken was inducted into the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame in 1998, having won three Olympic medals and four World Championships. She is also the two-time winner of the Canadian Female Athlete of the Year award and recipient of the Lou Marsh award in 1992, as Canada’s top athlete.  Although her competitive rowing career ended in 1999, her ability to inspire continues.

Silken is authentic and honest about her life journey. In her memoir, Unsinkable, Silken shines a spotlight on all the obstacles she has encountered—and overcome. Silken speaks candidly about her athletic success and triumph over physical adversity, but also the intense personal challenges of her past and the fierce determination she applies to living a bold, loving and successful life today. Silken is also passionate about mental health, and normalizing this conversation to help end the stigma to support others through their journey of recovery.

Silken has learned to approach each day with energy and optimism while continuing to dream big. She has used her notoriety to raise money and awareness for a variety of initiatives, including GoodLife Kids Foundation as their Kids Champion, raising funds to support national, provincial and local programs that provide sustainable physical activity opportunities for kids ages 4–14; Right To Play International, an organization that brings sport and play to the most disadvantaged children in the world; and WE Day, a celebration of youth making a difference in their local and global communities.

In 2015, Silken received a Star on Canada’s Walk of Fame.

Today, Silken is passionate about sharing her experiences and empowering others to rise to their potential and live their happiest and healthiest lives.

 

Professor Mike Slade

Mike SladeMike is Professor of Mental Health Recovery and Social Inclusion at University of Nottingham. His main research interests are recovery-focused and outcome-focused mental health services, including Recovery Colleges, lived experience narratives, citizenship, wellbeing, needs assessment and developing measures, e.g. INSPIRE, Camberwell Assessment of Need, Threshold Assessment Grid. He has written over 290 academic articles and published 11 books, including Personal Recovery and Mental Illness (2009), Partnering for Recovery in Mental Health (2014), Positive Psychotherapy for Psychosis (2017) and Wellbeing, Recovery and Mental Health (2017). His free booklets include Making Recovery a Reality (2008), REFOCUS: Promoting recovery in community mental health services, 2nd edition (2011), 100 Ways to Support Recovery, 2nd edition (2013), The empirical evidence about recovery (2015) and The Business Case for Recovery (2017), all downloadable at researchintorecovery.com.

May 20-21, 2020

Conférencier d’honneur

Silken Laumann
Héroïne olympique

Silken Laumann

Silken Laumann, qui cumule quatre participations aux Jeux olympiques, est l’une des leaders les plus inspirantes au Canada, en plus d’être une auteure à succès et une athlète de grande renommée. En tant qu’athlète de haut niveau, écrivaine et mentor spécialisée, Silken a réussi à réaliser son plein potentiel et à aider les autres à réaliser le leur. Inspirante, drôle, stimulante et toujours réaliste, Silken laisse son cœur parler et suscite chez son public l’envie d’exploiter son propre potentiel et d’aspirer à sa propre grandeur. Ce qui frappe le plus chez Silken, c’est son esprit humain, sa façon d’apprendre de ses erreurs avec humour, son courage de voir une occasion de s’améliorer dans chaque obstacle rencontré et la ténacité avec laquelle elle ne cesse jamais de vouloir s’améliorer.

L’histoire olympique de Silken est légendaire et édifiante. Alors qu’elle avait déjà remporté un titre de championne du monde, Silken est revenue en force après avoir subi une grave blessure dans un accident d’aviron et a remporté la médaille de bronze aux Jeux olympiques d’été de 1992, à Barcelone. Les Canadiens ont salué son incroyable rétablissement d’à peine 10 semaines et son courage face à des obstacles pratiquement insurmontables. Silken a été intronisée au Panthéon des sports canadiens en 1998, après avoir remporté trois médailles olympiques et quatre titres de championne du monde. Elle a également remporté le prix de l’athlète féminine canadienne de l’année à deux reprises et le prix Lou Marsh de la meilleure athlète canadienne de l’année en 1992.  Sa carrière compétitive en aviron a pris fin en 1999, mais elle demeure toujours aussi inspirante.

Silken est authentique et honnête à propos de son histoire personnelle. Dans son mémoire intitulé Unsinkable, Silken lève le voile sur tous les obstacles qu’elle a dû surmonter. Silken est franche lorsqu’elle parle de sa réussite athlétique et du combat qu’elle a mené contre ses propres limites physiques, mais aussi lorsqu’elle décrit les défis personnels colossaux auxquels elle a été confrontée et la détermination sans faille dont elle fait preuve encore aujourd’hui pour mener une vie remplie de courage, d’amour et de succès. Silken est également passionnée par la santé mentale et elle s’efforce de participer aux efforts déployés pour mettre fin à la stigmatisation, et ainsi aider ceux qui en ont besoin sur la voie du rétablissement.

Silken a appris à aborder chaque nouvelle journée avec énergie et optimisme tout en continuant à aspirer à de grandes choses. Elle a mis sa notoriété à profit pour récolter des fonds et sensibiliser le public à diverses initiatives, notamment la Fondation GoodLife Kids, dont elle est la championne des enfants, et par le biais de laquelle elle recueille des fonds pour soutenir des programmes nationaux, provinciaux et locaux qui offrent des occasions de pratiquer des activités physiques durables aux enfants âgés de 4 à 14 ans; Right To Play International, une organisation qui a pour but de permettre aux enfants les plus défavorisés de la planète de faire du sport et de jouer; et la Journée UNIS, qui célèbre les jeunes qui font une différence au sein de leur communauté locale et dans le monde.

En 2015, Silken a eu l’honneur de se voir décerner une étoile sur l’Allée des célébrités canadiennes.

Aujourd’hui encore, Silken partage son expérience avec passion et permet à de nombreux jeunes de réaliser leur plein potentiel et de se forger une vie heureuse et saine.

 

Professeur Mike Slade

Mike SladeM. Slade est professeur de rétablissement en santé mentale et inclusion sociale à l’Université de Nottingham. Ses principaux domaines de recherche sont les services de santé mentale axés sur le rétablissement et sur les résultats, notamment les Recovery Colleges, les histoires vécues, le civisme, le mieux-être, l’évaluation des besoins et l’élaboration de systèmes de mesure comme INSPIRE, l’entrevue Camberwell et la Grille d’évaluation du seuil critique (TAG). Il a écrit plus de 290 articles universitaires et publié 11 livres, dont Personal Recovery and Mental Illness (2009), Partnering for Recovery in Mental Health (2014), Positive Psychotherapy for Psychosis (2017) et Wellbeing, Recovery and Mental Health (2017). Parmi ses livrets gratuits, on retrouve Making Recovery a Reality (2008), REFOCUS: Promoting recovery in community mental health services, 2nd edition (2011), 100 Ways to Support Recovery, 2nd edition (2013), The empirical evidence about recovery (2015) and The Business Case for Recovery (2017), tous disponibles pour téléchargement sur le site researchintorecovery.com.